## **AGENDA & MINUTES (IN ITALICS, INLINE)**

# **AVS Committee – 2nd Meeting Call using Webex**

#### <u>2021-09-30 1:00PM - 1:30PM UTC</u>

#### 1) Call to Order & Roll Call [9 min.]

Objective: Establishment of Quorum

Background: Need majority for official meeting.

S. You mentioned that three members informed him about their apologies for absence, namely, Julián Cabrera, Ercan Kalali, and Jim Slevinsky.

David Han reported that he moved to Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA

See Addendum A for attending members.

## 2) Approval of Agenda –ALL [1min.]

Objective: Quick review of agenda for all participants

Background: Agenda already dispatched

Due to technical problems, agenda was unable to be shown on the screen.

Agenda approved by participants.

#### 3) Self-Introduction of New Members - ALL [3min]

Objective: Self-introduction of new TC members (name, affiliation, etc.)

Background: We have two new members, Yoshinobu Kajikawa and Chinthaka Premachandra.

Y. Kajikawa mentioned that his research areas were in audio, acoustics, ANC, and spatial audio. He was also a TC member in security and privacy.

C. Premachandra said that he was with Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan. He participated in CTSoc conferences and activities since long time ago.

#### 4) Communication from the Chair - AVS Chair [3min]

Objective: Current status of TC members.

Background: Share thoughts with members.

Sugiyama mentioned that two new members joined the TC, and one member left. There were 48 members so far, 5 from America, 11 from Europe 11, and 32 from Asia.

#### 5) Status of TC Subcommittees -AVS Chair [10 min]

Objective: Current status all in-TC committees, listed below

<u>Background</u>: To review and update members of TC subcommittees, and to ask members to join one or more TC subcommittees

a. Conference and Review: To arrange all conference reviews for the AVS track

Chair: Charith Abhayaratne (U Sheffield)

Audio: Yoshinobu Kajikawa (Kansai U)

Video: Heri Prasetyo (U Sebelas Maret), Miguel Chavarrías, Giuseppe Spampinato Systems/SP

b. Education: To plan educational activities

Chair: Wei-Min Liu (National Chung Cheng U)

- c. Future Directions: To define future TC issues
- d. Industry Relations and Standard: To develop industry relations Chair: Rappy Saha Ronix), Jim Slevinsky
- e. Nomination and Election: To nominate candidates and manage elections Chair: Glenn Van Wallendael

- f. Publication: To manage publication issues including EDICS Chair: Mei-Juan Chen (National Dong Hwa U), Ilker Hamzaoglu, Ercan Kalali, Chinthaka Premachandra.
- g. Student Competition: To manage Student Competition activities Chair: Julián Cabrera
- h. Web and Publicity: To maintain webpage Chair: Norihiro Sugita (Tohoku U), Osamu Watanabe (Takushoku U)

Sugiyama explained the current status of each TC subcommittee:

- Review committee: Supposed to coordinate review for conferences. However, it seemed that ICCE 2022 program committee had already assigned reviewer for paper review.
- C. Abhayaratne reported that he already started to help arrange the review for ICCE2022. He is handling about 20 papers in the AVS field.
- Web and Publicity committee: To maintain webpages of AVS TC (in CTsoc), member rosters, etc. Currently our TC members did not have the right to modify the pages now. Maybe later on this committee could have the access right to update AVS TC webpages.
- Education committee: Currently no clear objective. Need to think how to fully use this committee.
- Industry Relations committee: Could think a way to support conferences for industry-related activities.
- Nomination and election committee: To think how to support members to compete all kinds of society awards. Another issue is how to find candidates.
- Student Competition committee: No activities now. When there is need to support a competition organized in the CTSoc, this subcommittee will help. It is also encouraged to plan a student competition..
- Publication committee: When there is a request to support publication-related activities, it is time for this subcommittee to work.
- Conference committee: May plan a special session, a tutorial talk, or a keynote in the AVS field.

# 6) A.O.B.: - ALL [1min]

Sugiyama asked if anyone had any other business (AOB). Nothing proposed.

#### 9) Next Meeting - ALL [1 min.]

Sugiyama explained that he planned to have two to three meetings per year. He suggested the next meeting be held in next March.

#### Adjournment [13:28 UTC]

The meeting was adjourned at 13:28 UTC.

# <u>Addendum A</u> – Member Roster

\* means present

# means an apology

# Committee Chair, % Vice Chair

		# Committee Chair, % Vice Chair
Member	Committee	Affiliation
Akihiko K. Sugiyama*	Chair	Yahoo Japan Corporation
Fernando Pescador*	Vice Chair	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Shingchern (David)	Secretary	National Taipei University of
You*		Technology
Charith Abhayaratne*	Conference and Review	The University of Sheffield
David B.L. Bong		Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Julián Cabrera#	Student Competition	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Sung-Ho Chae*		Korea University
Miguel Chavarrías*	Conference and Review	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Mei-Juan Chen	Publication	National Dong Hwa University
David K. Han *		Office of Naval Research
Ilker Hamzaoglu*	Publication	Sabanci University
Chung-Hsun Huang		National Chung Cheng University
Yusuke Ikeda		Tokyo Denki University
Euee S. Jang		Hanyang University
David Jimenez		Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Yoshinobu Kajikawa*	Conference and Review	Kansai University
Ercan Kalali#	Publication	Sabanci University
Hari Kalva		Florida Atlantic University
Changick Kim	Conference and Review	Korea Advanced Institute of Sci. and
G		Tech.
Dong Seong Kim		Kumoh National Institute of Technology
Hong Kook Kim		Gwangju Institute of Science and
		Technology
Jong-Ok Kim		Korea University
Tae-Hwan Kim		Korea Aerospace University
Pei-Jun Lee		National Chi Nan University
Ting-Lan Lin		National Taipei University of Technology
Bor-Shyh Lin		National Chiao Tung University
Wei-Min Liu	Education	National Chung Cheng University
Muhammad Tarig		Korea University of Technology and
Mahmood		Education
Thanuja Mallikarachchi		Cardiff Metropolitan University
Wheidima Melo		Universidade do Estado do Amazonas
José Manuel Menéndez		Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Kenji Ozawa		University of Yamanashi
Sang-hyo Park		Yonsei University
Heri Prasetyo	Conference and Review	Universitas Sebelas Maret
Chinthaka Premachandra*	Publication	Shibaura Institute of Technology
Rappy Saha	Industry Relations	Ronix Inc.
Joongchol Shin	mastry relations	Chung Ang University
Waldir Silva		Universidade Federal do Amazonas
Jim Slevinsky#	Industry Relations	TELUS Communications
Giuseppe Spampinato*	Conference and Review	ST Microelectronics
Norihiro Sugita*	Web	Tohoku University

Glenn Van Wallendael*	Nomination	Ghent University - imec
Sheng-Ming Wang		National Taipei University of Technology
Ekkawit Wangkanklang		Shibaura Institute of Technology
Osamu Watanabe*	Web	Takushoku University
Xiao Yao		Hohai University
Chia-Hung Yeh		National Sun Yat-Sen University