AGENDA & MINUTES (IN ITALICS, INLINE)

AVS Committee – 3rd Meeting Call using Webex

2022-04-01 1:10PM - 1:50PM UTC

1) Call to Order & Roll Call [15min.]

Objective: Establishment of Quorum

Background: Need majority for official meeting. See Addendum A for attending members.

16 TC members were present including the 3 officers. The Chair Sugiyama declared that the quorum has not been established and any decision to be made today would be informative.

Wai Yin Steve Mung informed Secretary You about his apology for absence by e-mail.

2) Approval of Agenda –ALL [2min.]

Objective: Quick review of agenda for all participants

Background: Agenda already dispatched

Agenda approved by participants.

3) Self-Introduction of Members - ALL [13min]

Objective: Self-introduction of new TC members (name, affiliation, etc.)

Background: We have new participants in the meeting. See Addendum A for attending members.

Attending members introduced themselves on the order of Addendum A, including their affiliations and research areas.

W-H Liu asked the role of the Education subcommittee members.

4) Communication from the Chair - AVS Chair [30min]

Objective: Explain the call for Distinguished Lecturers.

Background: Encourage members to nominate somebody.

The Chair Sugiyama provided details of the Distinguished Lecturers (DLs) based on his experiences as a DL for IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) and CTSoc as well as a Distinguished Industry Speaker for IEEE SPS and encouraged members to volunteer.

Sugiyama mentioned that the work for DLs were to deliver talks to various local chapters. Therefore, serving as DLs could visit many places and meet people all over the world.

Because self-nomination is not permitted, members interested in serving as a DL should contact the TC officers and a Nomination Subcommittee member. Glenn Van Wallendael.

Akihiko K. Sugiyama: a.sugiyama@jeee.org

Fernando Pescador : fernando.pescador@upm.es

Shingchern You: scyou@ntut.edu.tw

Glenn Van Wallendael : glenn.vanwallendael@ugent.be

Sugiyama also explained the works that Education subcommittee members could do, such as inviting distinguished lecturers to give talks in local chapters and arranging or recommending candidates for webinars.

Sugiyama mentioned again that all members should choose at least one subcommittee. Members without choosing any subcommittee would be considered as inactive.

5) A.O.B.: - ALL [15min]

Secretary You proposed that one or two presentations about each member's research to be included in each TC meeting, if time permitted, with an advance scheduling. The main idea is to make the

.

meeting more interactive. Sugiyama accepted the idea and would discuss with officers about how to proceed.

Secretary You suggested detailed explanation of the current call for the organizing committee members of ICCE2023 in Las Vegas. Chair Sugiyama encouraged TC members to volunteer for a member. Sugiyama explained that the organizing committee would have meetings once per two months initially, and maybe once per week prior to the conference beginning. It was a good experience to serve as organizing committee in a major international conference.

9) Next Meeting - ALL [10 min.]

Sugiyama explained that originally each TC should have four meetings per year. The date for next meeting is to be announced.

Adjournment [13:55 UTC]

The meeting was adjourned at 13:55 UTC.

<u>Addendum A</u> – Member Roster

* means present

means an apology

Member	Present	Affiliation	
Charith Abhayaratne	X	The University of Sheffield	Conference and Review
David B.L. Bong		Universiti Malaysia Sarawak	0
Julián Cabrera		Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Student Competition
Sung-Ho Chae		Korea University	0
Miguel Chavarrías	Х	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Conference and Review
Mei-Juan Chen	,,	National Dong Hwa University	Publication
Ilker Hamzaoglu	Х	Sabanci University	Publication
David Han		Drexel University	0
Chung-Hsun Huang		National Chung Cheng University	0
Yusuke Ikeda		Tokyo Denki University	0
Euee S. Jang		Hanyang University	0
David Jimenez		Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	0
Yoshinobu Kajikawa	Х	Kansai University	Conference and Review
Ercan Kalali	X	Delft University of Technology	Publication
Hari Kalva		Florida Atlantic University	0
Changick Kim		Korea Advanced Institute of	Conference and Review
		Science and Technology	Conference and Neview
Dong Seong Kim		Kumoh National Institute of	0
Bong Seong Kim		Technology	0
Hong Kook Kim		Gwangju Institute of Science and	0
Tiong Rook Rim		Technology (GIST)	
Jong-Ok Kim		Korea University	0
Tae-Hwan Kim		Korea Aerospace University	0
Peter Lambert		Ghent University - imec	0
Pei-Jun Lee		National Chi Nan University	0
Bor-Shyh Lin		National Chiao Tung University	0
Ting-Lan Lin		National Taipei University of	0
Tilig-Lati Lili		Technology	0
Wei-Min Liu	Х	National Chung Cheng University	Education
Muhammad Mahmood		Korea University of Technology	0
Wananinaa Wannood		and Education	
Thanuja Mallikarachchi		Cardiff Metropolitan University	0
Wheidima Melo		Universidade do Estado do	0
Wholama Wole		Amazonas	
José Menéndez		Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	0
Wai Yin Steve Mung		The Hong Kong Polytechnic	Industry Relations and
Train in Stove Mang	#	University	Standards
Kenji Ozawa		University of Yamanashi	0
Sang-hyo Park		Kyungpook National University	0
Fernando Pescador	Х	Universidad Politécnica de Madrid	Vice Chair
Heri Prasetyo	X	Universitas Sebelas Maret	Conference and Review
Chinthaka Premachandra	X	Shibaura Institute of Technology	Publication
Rappy Saha		Ronix Inc.	Industry Relations and
			Standards
Joongchol Shin		Chung Ang University	0
Waldir Silva		Universidade Federal do	0
		Amazonas	
Jim Slevinsky	Х	TELUS Communications	Industry Relations and
<u> </u>			Standards
Giuseppe Spampinato	Х	ST Microelectronics	Conference and Review
Norihiro Sugita	Х	Tohoku University	Web
Akihiko Sugiyama	Х	Yahoo Japan	Chair
			1

Navneet Upadhyay		The LNM Institute of Information	0
		Technology (LNMIIT)	
Glenn Van Wallendael	Х	Ghent University - imec	Nomination
Sheng-Ming Wang	Х	National Taipei University of	0
		Technology	
Ekkawit Wangkanklang		Shibaura Institute Of Technology	0
Osamu Watanabe		Takushoku University	Web
Xiao Yao		Hohai University	0
Chia-Hung Yeh		National Taiwan Normal University	0
Shingchern You		National Taipei University of	Secretary
	X	Technology	