

IEEE CTSoc CSH TC - 2022 Meeting #1

2022/20/07, 3:00PM - 4:00PM CEST

Prof. Andrea Monteriù, CTSoc CSH TC Chair, welcomes all the participants to the 1st CSH TC meeting of the year 2022 and presents the agenda.

• CSH TC Officers: Liaison Positions

- The Chair shows the current covered liaison positions, and remembers there are still two vacant places:
 - IEEE Societies/Councils Liaison
 - Technical Sister Societies Liaison
- Members interested in covering the two vacant positions are invited to apply by contacting one of the officers.

• CSH TC Webpage

- The chair shows the CSH TC webpage available at <u>https://ctsoc.ieee.org/technical/technical-committees/csh-tc.html</u> includes:
 - List of the CSH TC Members
 - Membership Application Form
 - Policies and Procedures (P&Ps) (to be published)
 - Meeting Dates & Minutes

• Recruitment and approval of new CSH TC members

• The chair remember that one does not have to be CTSoc member to be a member of the CSH TC, and invited current members to spread the word.

• Welcome & self-intro of the new CSH TC members

- In the last meeting, 9 new members were approved, namely:
 - Dr. Po-Hsun Cheng, National Kaohsiung Normal University, Taiwan
 - Dr. Zilu Liang, Kyoto University of Advanced Science, Japan
 - Dr. Alessandro Mengarelli, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
 - Dr. Shenglin Mu, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Ehime University, Japan § Dr. R Simon Sherratt, The University of Reading, United Kingdom
 - Dr. Andrea Tigrini, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
 - Dr. Gandhiya Vendhan S., Bharathiar University, India



- Dr. Federica Verdini, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy § Dr. Liang-Hung Wang, Fuzhou University, China
- The chair invites the new members to present themselves: among the members attending the meeting, the only one present is Dr. Alessandro Mengarelli who presents himself and his main research activities.

• Updates on TC Activities and opportunities

- The Chair provides update about the TC activities and opportunities shared so far among the members, in detail:
 - Call for Guest Editors of the Special Issue proposal on IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics about "Consumer Electronics Designed by Artificial Intelligence"
 - IEEE ICCE 2023 Las Vegas and CTSoc Conferences Technical Positions
 - Call for Distinguished Lecturers for CTSoc
 - IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine Call for Associate Editors
 - IECON 2022 Workshop on Digital Health Call for speakers
 - Call for volunteers in technical positions at GEM 2022 and ICCE Berlin 2022
 - IEEE Consumer Technology Society Board of Governors Call for Nominations 2023
 - IEEE Digital Privacy Initiative Team

• Educational contents

- The Chair remembers to collect expression of interest by members to prepare educational content to be shared / stramed live on CTSoc channel, namely:
 - Webinars or a series of webinars on specific topics
 - Webinars in collaboration with companies or industrial speakers are also welcomed

• CTSoc Conferences (Technical Co-Sponsored)

- The chair remind the main conferences which are CTSoc sponsored and invites member to participate
- 2022 International Conference on Consumer Electronics-Taiwan (ICCE-Taiwan 2022)
- 2022 IEEE 11th Global Conference on Consumer Electronics (GCCE 2022)
- 2022 IEEE 12th International Conference on Consumer Electronics-Berlin (ICCE-Berlin 2022)



- 2022 IEEE 7th International Conference on Consumer Electronics-Asia (ICCE-Asia 2022)
- 2023 IEEE 41st International Conference on Consumer Electronics (ICCE 2023)
- 0

• CTSoc Publications

- The chair remind the main journal which are CTSoc sponsored and invites member to submit their research in order to positively contribute to the community
 - IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics
 - IEEE ACCESS Section for Consumer Technology Society (Open Access)
 - IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine
 - News on Consumer Technology (NCT)
 - CTSoc World Newsletter
 - CTSoc Digital Library
 - CTSoc Resource Center

• Open Discussion

An open discussion is started to share possible suggestions on how to improve the promotion of the activities of the TC.

- Lucia Billeci points out the small number of people participating, and invites the TC to find possible ways to involve the members more actively.
- Alessandro Tonacci confirms the negative trend of people not participating actively, and suggests to involve more people at International level.
- The Chair agrees with the comments, and suggests some possible ways to improve the number of active participants, such as inviting members to prepare very short webinars to promote their research activities with the opportunity to increase visibility and start collaborations with other TC members.
- The problem and the possible solutions are shared by all the present TC members, and the Officers will look into it and provide actions as soon as possible.

The Chair thanks all the participants to the 1st 2022 CSH TC meeting and reminds that the next meeting will be held at the end of 2022: the date will be decided, via poll, with all the TC members.



LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Member	Committee	Present	Affiliation
Andrea Monteriù	Chair	x	Università Politecnica delle Marche
Vicente Jr. Lucena Ferreira	Vice-chair		Federal University of Amazonas
Alessandro Freddi	Secretary	x	Università Politecnica delle Marche
Raimundo Barreto			Federal University of Amazonas
Lucia Billeci		x	National Research Council of Italy
Stanley Glenn E. Brucal			Asia Pacific College
Frederico Bublitz			State University of Paraiba
Wen-Tsung Chang			Institute for Information Industry
Chia-Chi Chang		х	National Chiao-Tung University
Hsin-Chuan Chen			University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
Duan-Yu Chen			Yuan Ze University
Kun-Chih Chen			National Sun Yat-Sen University
Zhen-Xi Chen			Taipei Medical University
Po-Hsun Cheng			Taiwan National Kaohsiung Normal University
Minsik Cho			Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Nicolas Fahier			National Chiao Tung University
Maria Fantacci			University of Pisa
Rodolfo Garcia-Bermudez			Universidad Técnica de Manabí
Eisuke Hanada			Saga University
Gangolf Hirtz			Chemnitz University
Noriyasu Homma			Tohoku University
Pao-Cheng Huang			Fujian Agriculture and Forestry



	University
Tong-Hun Hwang	Leibniz University Hannover
Atul Kumar	IRCAD-Taiwan
Hyunjoo Lee	Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Zilu Liang	Kyoto University of Advanced Science
Chia-Feng Liu	National Cheng Kung University
Ilaria Marcantoni	x Università Politecnica delle Marche
Soichiro Matsushita	Tokyo University of Technology
Alessandro Mengarelli	x Università Politecnica delle Marche
Anupama Mishra	Swami Rama Himalayan University
Yasue Mitsukura	Keio University
Micaela Morettini	Università Politecnica delle Marche
Shenglin Mu	Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Ehime University
Takako Nonaka	Shonan Institute of Technology
Shima Okada	Ritsumeikan University
Takao Onoye	Osaka University
Lucia Pepa	Università Politecnica delle Marche
Gandhiya Vendhan S.	Bharathiar University
Agnese Sbrollini	Università Politecnica delle Marche
R Simon Sherratt	The University of Reading
Susanna Spinsante	Università Politecnica delle Marche
Jian-Ping Su	Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology
Jing-Yau Tang	National Cheng Kung University
Pham The Bao	Sai Gon University



Andrea Tigrini		Università Politecnica delle Marche
Alessandro Tonacci	x	National Research Council of Italy
Kim Fung Tsang		City University of Hong Kong
Federica Verdini		Università Politecnica delle Marche
Min Haw Wang		Chinese Culture University
Liang-Hung Wang		Fuzhou University
Emi Yuda		Tohoku University
Sveta Zinger		Eindhoven University of Technology